GIGA Board Elections Results

GIGA congratulates newly elected board members, and sends a deep thank you for retiring members.

Rotating positions include President, Executive VP for Conferences, Executive VP for Early Career Development, Executive VP for Development and Fundraising, and Student Representative.

GIGA thanks outgoing governing board (GB) members for their service to the Alliance (Joe Lopez, Heather Bracken-Grissom, Jean-François Flot, and Monica Medina).

Special thanks to Past President Joe Lopez for his dedicated leadership of the society!! Thanks to all nominees for their willingness to serve the community, and warm welcome the new GIGA Governing Board members:

PresidentTodd Oakley, University of California Santa Barbara

Executive Vice-President for ConferencesVanessa González, Smithsonian Institution

Executive Vice-President for Early Career DevelopmentMaria Carmen Ablan Lagman, De La Salle University

Executive Vice-President for Development and Fundraising Joe Lopez, Nova Southeastern University

Student RepresentativeKate Castellano, The Gloucester Marine Genomics Institute

The current Secretary (Kevin Kocot), Treasurer (Gonzalo Giribet), and Communications Director (Fabrizio Ghiselli) will continue their terms until the October 2023 election, according to the GIGA bylaws.